Welcome to JayMassiet.com!

So who am I? My name is Jay Massiet. Technically, Jayp Massiet. A cookie to whoever pronounces my name correctly on the first try. Oatmeal raisin. Sorry, no substitutions.

I’m a former Army Sergeant, spent just under six years in the service, completed two tours in Iraq, and was awarded the Purple Heart Medal for injuries sustained in combat. I left the Army in 2009, moved back to my hometown of Palmdale, California, where I tried to find a job, failed, moved to Little Rock, AR, tried to find a job, failed, moved back home, tried to find a job, failed, decided to go to college, failed . . . oops, I actually succeeded in something. No, really. I attended Seton Hill University where I graduated summa cum laude (3.91 GPA) in 2013. I’m still at SHU, this time going for an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction.

So what do I write? Horror, mainly, but I try to write stories that fit within various genres. I’ve written a 99,500-word dark fantasy novel as an undergrad, for which I am currently seeking representation. I’ve just completed the first draft of my thesis novel (93,000 words) for my MFA, this one supernatural horror. I’ve since started a third novel, which at the time of this post sits at 35,000 words with a goal of 60,000-70,000. It’s mainstream literary, and focuses on the tragedies–and humor, boredom, excitement, fatigue, enjoyment, heartbreak–of war. It will be a shorter book, but I feel that’ll be best for the story I’ve been developing.

On my website, I will be speaking about whatever I feel like at the moment, or whatever inspires me to write a post. I figure most posts will have something to do with writing, in some shape or form. Sometimes posts may just be about something that tickles my fancy.

If I really like a book, I may write about it. If I dislike a book, I may write about it and discuss why I felt that way, and what I, and perhaps other writers, can learn from the experience. Really, my book reviews will be highly subjective, and I don’t expect everybody to agree. If you do or don’t, feel free to leave a comment.

Healthy discussion and debate is always encouraged. Trolling is not, however, so please be civil. What’s the point of interacting with people, even through a medium as anonymous as the Internet, if they hate your guts? You don’t want people to hate you, right? Sure, others may feed you, make you fat. But then you’re just a fat person behind a keyboard, and anonymity is the only way you can hide troll-some fatness. So don’t be a lard.

Anyways.

Many of my posts will be about my personal experiences as a writer. I try to experiment as often as I can with my stories, whether it’s through genres I’m not as well read in, writing techniques, or whatever I feel will help me become a better writer, and I plan to write about my successes and failures as I play with the written word.

So. It’s time to get back to working on my story, so more to come soon.

Take care,

Jay Massiet

P.S. This blog was originally my blog for a course in my MFA and you can find the posts I’ve written for it below. Some are better written than others, but I’m keeping them so that others can read them should they choose to do so.

Leave a Reply

